Delhi BJP Expels 21 Members, Including Five Councillors

The Delhi BJP has expelled its 21 members for allegedly being involved in anti-party activities ahead of MCD polls.

The Delhi BJP has expelled 21 members, including five sitting councillors, for six years for allegedly being involved in anti-party activities ahead of MCD polls on 23 April.

Five outgoing councillors Dr Pankaj Singh from Ranhola, Krishna Gehlot from Navada, Praveen Rajput from Sagarpur West, Sandhya Verma (Patparganj), and Nikki Singh from New Ashok Nagar were expelled for contesting the civic elections against the party's official candidates, the party said in a statement.

Party leader and former Delhi University Students' Union president Manoj Chaudhary has also been expelled, according to a statement by the Delhi BJP media in-charge Praveen Shankar Kapoor. He added that all 21 BJP members were expelled for six years.

‘Anti-Party Activities’ Over Ticket Distribution

In this year’s civic polls in Delhi, the BJP has decided not to give tickets to all its sitting councillors in the three corporations. Most of the 140 councillors have abided by the party decision, but a section of the party has been involved in anti-party activities, according to a BJP leader.

About nine councillors had filed nominations against the BJP’s official candidates and a couple of sitting councillors have switched over to the Congress against the party’s decision. On the other hand, some Congress workers and a candidate of AAP in MCD bypolls last year, Sunita Tokas, joined the BJP on Saturday.

Voting for 272 wards of three municipal corporations will be held on 23 April and counting of votes will take place on 26 April.

Join The Quint on WhatsApp. Type “JOIN” and send to 9910181818.