Delhi Assembly Election 2020 -- Shalimar Bagh Assembly constituency of Delhi: Full list of candidates, polling dates

·3-min read

Shalimar Bagh assembly constituency is one of the seventy assembly constituencies of Delhi in northern India. Shalimar Bagh assembly constituency is part of Chandni Chowk.

In 2015, Shalimar Bagh assembly constituency had 68 percent voter turnout. In the Delhi Assembly Elections 2015, Bandana Kumari from AAP won this seat bagging 62,656 votes and beating Rekha Gupta from BJP who received 51,678 votes. In 2020, Aam Aadmi Party has fielded Bandana Kumari. Other prominent faces to contest the 2020 state assembly election from Shalimar Bagh Assembly are J S Nayol of Congress and Rekha Gupta of Bharatiya Janata Party.

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Election 2020 -- Patel Nagar Assembly constituency of Delhi: Full list of candidates, polling dates

Full list of candidates for Shalimar Bagh assembly who will contest Delhi Assembly Election 2020:

1. Bandana Kumari from AAP

2. J S Nayol from Congress

3. Rekha Gupta from Bharatiya Janata Party

4. Shehnaz, an Independent candidate

5. Poonam Kaushik, an Independent candidate

6. Mohit from Bahujan Samaj Party

7. Suresh, an Independent candidate

8. Shyam Kumar, an Independent candidate

9. Vandana, an Independent candidate

10. Saurabh Gupta from Janhit Kisan Party

11. Sharvan, an Independent candidate

12. Dr. Ashwani Kumar from Bharat Lok Sewak Party

Assembly elections in Delhi will be held on February 8 in what promises to be a high stake triangular contest with the AAP hoping to retain power on the plank of development and the BJP and the Congress determined to put up a spirited challenge. Announcing the 1-day poll for the 70-member Assembly, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora told a news conference on Monday that counting of votes will be taken up on February 11.

Over 1.46 crore voters can exercise their franchise, according to the final electoral roll published on January 6. There are total 1,46,92,136 voters -- 80,55,686 males, 66,35,635 females and 815 belonging to third gender -- in the final voters list. All voters will be provided QR code-enabled voters slip which will speed up voting through easy identification.

This time Delhi will have 13,659 polling stations as compared to 11,763 in 2014, a jump of 16.89 per cent, according to an EC press note. The Commission has decided to extend the facility of postal ballot for "absentee voters", people with disability and those above 80 years of age in all 70 assembly constituencies. In October last year, the government had amended election rules to allow "absentee voters" to vote by postal ballot.

Electors on duty in polling station, electors who are above 80 years of age and the electors marked as 'Persons with Disabilities' in the Electoral Roll will have the option to seek postal ballot paper for casting their vote. The facility of absentee voter status was provided for the first time in the country in seven assembly constituencies in Jharkhand which went to polls recently.

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Election 2020 -- Madipur Assembly constituency of Delhi: Full list of candidates, polling dates