India to begin 2019 World Cup campaign against South Africa on June 5

By Amlan Chakraborty

(Reuters) - Hosts England will begin their quest for a maiden 50-overs World Cup title against South Africa on May 30 next year with Lord's staging the final on July 14, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced on Thursday.

Courtesy: ICC

One-day cricket's most coveted trophy has eluded three-times finalists England who staged the first three World Cups between 1975-1983 and also in 1999.

 Ashes rivals Australia will begin their title defence against qualifiers Afghanistan on June 1 at Bristol.

Old Trafford will host the 10-team tournament's most-anticipated match on June 16 between Asian arch-rivals India and Pakistan.

The 46-day tournament will be played across 11 venues in England and Wales with Manchester's Old Trafford venue hosting six matches.

India's schedule:

Jun 05: India vs South Africa at Rose Bowl, Southampton

June 09: India vs Australia at Oval, London

June 13: India vs New Zealand at Trentbridge, Nottingham

June 16: India vs Pakistan at Old Trafford, Manchester

June 22: India vs Afghanistan at Rose Bowl, Southampton

June 27: India vs West Indies at Old Trafford, Manchester

June 30: India vs England at Edgbaston, Birmingham

July 02: India vs Bangladesh at Edgbaston, Birmingham

July 06: India vs Sri Lanka at Headingley, Leeds

(Reporting by Amlan Chakraborty in Kolkata, editing by Sudipto Ganguly and Ken Ferris)