COVID: Night Curfew in Bengaluru, 7 More Cities in Karnataka

The Quint
·1-min read

As India grapples with a surge in COVID-19 cases, Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa on Thursday, 8 April, announced a night curfew in eight cities in the state.

The announcement came right after a meeting chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi with the CMs to assess the situation caused by the pandemic.

The curfew will be from 10 April to 20 April, and will be imposed from 10 pm to 5 am. Essential services will be exempt from the curfew.

The CM announced that the lockdown will be in eight cities, namely Bengaluru, Mysuru, Mangaluru, Kalaburagi, Bidar, Tumkuru, Udupi, and Manipal.

There have been at least 1,28,01,700 confirmed cases of coronavirus in India, according to the Union Health Ministry data. As of Thursday morning, there have been 1,66,177 deaths in the country.

Also Read: Centre Gives Patent to COVID Alert Device Made by 2 Bihar Students

. Read more on COVID-19 by The Quint.COVID: Night Curfew in Bengaluru, 7 More Cities in KarnatakaWHO Refuses to Extend Covishield’s Shelf Life to 9 Months: Report . Read more on COVID-19 by The Quint.