Congress's 2nd list of bypoll contestants on Nov 13: Gundu Rao

Congress's 2nd list of bypoll contestants on Nov 13: Gundu Rao Bengaluru, Nov 10 (PTI) The Karnataka Congress chiefDinesh Gundu Rao on Sunday said the second list of candidatesfor assembly byelections would be announced on November 13after the Supreme Court verdict on the disqualified MLAs.

The Congress had released the first list of eightcandidates on October 31.

The decision on the second list of seven candidateswas taken at a party meeting here.

We have had a detailed discussion on the selectionof candidates for the rest of the places. There is anothermeeting of the senior leaders on Monday, where we will take afinal decision, Rao told reporters after the meeting.

He added, We will announce the names of ourcandidates on November 13 after the court verdict, which islikely to come on November 13. By the evening of that day, wewill announce the names of the rest of the candidates.' The state Congress chief expressed his confidenceabout the partys victory in all the 15 places where thebyelections would take place on December 5.

Giving reasons for the partys good show, Rao saidthe BJPs popularity graph has declined due to the policies ofthe Centre and the State.

Rao added that the scope for winning in all the 15constituencies is high because there is unity in the party.

In its first list released on October 31, the partyannounced that Bhimanna Naik would contest from Yellapur, B HBannikod (Hirekerur) K B Koliwad (Ranebennur) M Anjanappa(Chikkaballapura), M Narayanaswamy (K R Puram), M Shivaraj(Mahalakshmi Layout) Padmavathi Suresh (Hosakote) and H PManjunath would seek election from Hunsur.

Mahalakshmi Layout and Hunsur were represented byJD(S) members, the party which was Congress ally in theprevious coalition government. PTI GMSNVG NVG