Congress wave in Manipur: CM Ibobi Singh wins by 18,649 votes

Manipur Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh gave a tough fight to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and activists-turned-politician Irom Sharmila by winning for a record consecutive fourth term by beating the anti-incumbency wave. CM Ibobi Singh won from the Thoubal constituency. The Congress is in power in Manipur since 2002, when Singh became the Chief Minister of the state for the first time.