Congress releases first list for Jharkhand assembly polls

New Delhi [India], Nov 10 (ANI): The Congress party on Sunday released its first list of five candidates for the upcoming Jharkhand assembly elections scheduled to be held in five phases from November 30.

According to the list of candidates, Jharkhand Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) president Rameshwar Oraon will contest from Lohardaga (ST) constituency.

Among the other candidates are -- Ramchandra Singh from Manika (ST) constituency, KN Tripathy from Daltonganj, Chandrashekhar Dubey from Bishrampur and KP Yadav from Bhawanathpur.

"The Central Election Committee has approved the candidates for the ensuing first phase of general elections to the Legislative Assembly of Jharkhand," AICC press release undersigned by party general secretary, in-charge CEC, Mukul Wasnik said.

The 81-member Jharkhand assembly will go to polls in five phases between November 30 and December 20 and the votes will be counted on December 23. (ANI)