What clinched it for Yogi Adityanath as next UP CM: All you need to know

Gorakhpur MP Yogi Adityanath is set to be the next Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.

After intense speculation on who will be the next Uttar Pradesh, firebrand leader Yogi Adityanath was finally picked by the BJP leadership to lead India's most populous state.

Following the landslide victory by the Bharatiya Janata Party in the Hindi heartland, it was initially believed that the party was thinking of sending a senior leader from Delhi to take charge of Uttar Pradesh.

However, squashing such speculations, the BJP promoted the Gorakhpur MP, and a true-blue UPite, for the state's top job.



  1. Yogi Adityanath, a five-time MP, is a Sadhu and is perceived to be dead honest about his opinions, a trait that makes him stand out in the crowd.
  2. Like Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Yogi Adityanath is known to work round-the-clock and many also call him a workaholic.
  3. Yogi Adityanath's ideological commitment and fearless leadership are also believed to have clinched it for him.
  4. He is known to be anti-mafia and anti-corruption (qualities that Narendra Modi and Amit Shah wanted in the Uttar Pradesh chief minister) and feels strongly against family politics.
  5. Some also believe that the BJP is of the view that under the leadership of Yogi Adityanath when the Muslims will reap real benefits of development without discrimination, they will understand the spirit of Hindutva.
  6. As a result, Muslims will understand that law is equal for all and there is no appeasement policy, a line of thought that sits well with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah's anti-appeasement and pro-development stand.
  7. Under Yogi Adityanath's leadership, the BJP may find out a way to build the Ram Temple, a promise made by the party in its election manifesto for Uttar Pradesh.
  8. It is widely believed that Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his cabinet's first decision would be to shut down all slaughterhouses and take a call on farm loan waiver.



Yogi Adityanath is new UP Chief Minister; state BJP chief KP Maurya, Dinesh Sharma to be his deputies