Chawarasia adjudged Best Sportsperson by CSJC

PTI Feeds
Chawarasia adjudged Best Sportsperson by CSJC

Kolkata, Apr 10 (PTI) Deepa Malik, India’s only woman Paralympic medallist, and reigning Indian Open golf champion Shiv Shankar Prasad Chawrasia will be among the recipients at the annual awards programme of the Calcutta Sports Journalists’ Club here tomorrow.

Chawrasia will get the Best Sportsperson’s award and Malik will receive the ‘Inspiration of the Year’ award.

Cricketer Saurav Singh has been chosen for the Best Junior Sportsperson’s award.

There will be three special awards in football for Mridul Banerjee, Bengal’s Santosh Trophy winning coach, Rana Gharami, the Bengal skipper in the Santosh Trophy campaign, and Manvir Singh who scored the match-winner in the final against Goa.

Special awards will also be given to Pranab Nandy, coach of the Bengal under-19 team that emerged champions of India, and Anindita Chakraborty for her role in helping Bengal become the national champions in table tennis.

Lifetime achievement awards will be given to cricketer Raju Mukherji, former Bengal and East Zone skipper and match referee, Dibyendu Barua, India’s second Grandmaster, and Shyam Thapa, member of the 1970 Asian Games bronze medal winning team who is also the head of the technical committee of the All India Football Federation.

Malik, 46, won silver in the shot put event of the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, becoming the first Indian woman medallist at the quadrennial Games. She will get an award initiated by the CSJC this year.

Two-time Indian Open golf champion Chawrasia said: “I hope this award becomes a good luck charm as I get ready for tournaments in Japan, China and England.” The awardees:

Best Sportsperson of the Country: SSP Chawrasia.

Best Junior Sportsperson of the Country: Saurav Singh.

Inspiration of the Year: Deepa Malik

Special awards: Mridul Banerjee, Anindita Chakraborty, Pranab Nandy, Manvir Singh, Rana Gharami.

Lifetime achievement awards: Raju Mukherji, Dibyendu Barua, Shyam Thapa.

Best Footballer (joint): Mohammed Rafique and Jeje Lalpekhlua Best cricketer: Abhimanyu Easwaran.

Best Table Tennis player: Moumita Dutta

Best Archer: Atanu Das.

Best hockey player: Sathi Dolui

Best athlete (men): Chandan Bauri

Best athlete (women): Rajashree Prasad

Best badminton player: Utsava Palit

Best basketball player: Sitamoni Tudu

Best volleyball player: Tithi Dhara

Best chess player: Arpita Mukherjee

Aquatic sports (diving): Moupriya Mitra.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.