Chants of 'Jai Sri Ram' as Owaisi takes oath: AIMIM chief responds with 'Jai Bhim'

1 / 1

Chants of 'Jai Sri Ram' as Owaisi takes oath: AIMIM chief responds with 'Jai Bhim'

Hyderabad MP-elect and President of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) on Tuesday took oath in Parliament amidst slogans of 'Jai Sri Ram' and 'Vande Mataram' being raised in the Lok Sabha by BJP MPs. The slogans began as Owaisi approached the designated area in the well of the House to take oath, and the AIMIM MP was seen urging those raising the slogans to go ahead with what they were doing.

And in response to the chants, Owaisi finished off his oath-taking with, "Jai Bhim, Jai Bhim, Takbeer Allah hu Akbar, Jai Hind."

While the ruckus died down as he took his oath, it immediately began as soon as he finished, with some lawmakers yelling 'Bharat mata ki jai.’

Speaking to ANI outside Parliament, Owaisi said, "It is good that they remember such things when they see me, I hope they will also remember the Constitution and the deaths of children in Muzaffarpur."

Earlier this month, Owaisi, who was re-elected from Hyderabad for a fourth consecutive term, said his party would continue to fight for the due share and rights of Muslims, Dalits and other marginalised people.

Addressing 'Jalsa Youmul Quran' at the historic Mecca Masjid in Hyderabad on the occasion of 'Jumatul Vida' or last Friday of Ramzan, the AIMIM MP had said, "Muslims are hissedaar (shareholder) and not kirayedaar (tenants) in India. They are equal citizens of this country and they can't be denied the rights guaranteed to them by the Constitution."

The Hyderabad seat has been held by the AIMIM since 1984, as Asaduddin Owaisi’s father Sultan Salahuddin Owaisi was elected for six consecutive terms.

50-year-old Owaisi, a barrister, is a two-time MLA from the Charminar Assembly constituency and a three-time MLA from Hyderabad, and was elected as the president of the AIMIM in 2008 following his father’s death. 

In the recent Lok Sabha polls, Owaisi won in his homeground by a margin of 2,82,186 votes, against BJP’s Dr Bhagwanth Rao.  

With IANS inputs