Candidates rush to file nominations for Karnataka bypolls

Bengaluru, Nov 18 (PTI) There was a rush of candidatesto file nomination papers on Monday for byelections to 15assembly segments in Karnataka to be held on December 5.

With the day being the last date for filing of papersand also an auspicious day, majority of the candidates choseto file them.

As Friday and Sunday were government holidays, thecandidates could not file the nominations whereas on Saturday,which was a working day, most preferred to stay away as it wasconsidered inauspicious from the astrological point of view.

More than anybody, it was a show of strength by thedisqualified MLAs who are seeking their re-entry to theassembly on the BJP ticket.

They were previously in Congress and the JD(S) andhad resigned from the assembly and were eventuallydisqualified.

However, the Supreme Court upholding theirdisqualification allowed them to contest election.

Those who filed their nominations on Monday includedthe Jarkiholi brothers - Ramesh Jarkiholi(BJP) and LakhanJarkiholi (Congress).

In Mahalakshmi Layout, K Gopalaiah, a former JD(S)MLA, is contesting as the BJP candidate.

His wife filed the nominations as an independentcandidate.

In Hirekerur, BJP candidate B C Patil and hisdaughter Srishti Patil filed their nomination papers.

It was an arrangement by Gopalaiah and Patil toretain the seat within the family in the event of therejection of their nomination papers.

The JD(S) sprang a surprise in Hirekerur by fieldingShivalinga Shivacharya Swami of Kabbina Kanti Math to take onB C Patil.

This was a decision taken overnight.

Others who entered the fray as the BJP candidateswere Dr K Sudhakar from Chikkaballapura, Anand Singh fromVijayanagar, M T B Nagaraj from Hoskote, S T Somashekhar fromYashwanthapur, Byrathi Basavaraj from KR Puram, Narayana Gowdafrom K R Pet and Mahesh Kumathalli from Athani.

Rizwan Arshad too filed his nominations as aCongress candidate from Shivajinagar, who will take on TanveerAhmed from the JD(S) and M Saravana from the BJP.

There seems to be a triangular fight in Vijayanagar.

Besides battling out against his former partyCongress candidate Venkat Rao Ghorpade, Anand Singh is alsoconfronting with a rebel BJP leader Kaviraj Urs who too filedtheir nominations.

M Anjanappa and Raju Kage filed their nominations asthe Congress candidates from Chikkaballapura and Kagwad.

Kagwad would fight against BJPs Srimant Patil.

There was an awkward situation in KR Pete whenNarayana Gowda went to file nominations when some localresidents tried to humiliate him for his decision to resignfrom the assembly as a JD(S) MLA and seek re-entry to assemblyon BJP ticket. PTI GMSNVG NVG