Calderon reunites with Arden for F2 graduation

Jamie Klein

The Colombian, who has been associated with the Sauber (now Alfa Romeo) Formula 1 team for the past two years, will partner GP3 champion Anthoine Hubert at the HWA-affiliated Arden team.

Calderon previously competed for Arden in GP3 in 2016, her first season in the third-tier series, before moving on to DAMS for the '17 campaign and then Jenzer last season.

Her third season was her most successful in GP3, taking a best finish of seventh en route to 16th in the points standings, and she drove for the Sauber-aligned Charouz team in the post-season Abu Dhabi F2 test.

“I’m very excited to compete in the FIA F2 Championship with Team BWT Arden in technical partnership with HWA," commented Calderon.

"It is a new challenge in my career and a step closer to my ultimate goal: Formula 1. I’m sure we will achieve great things together. I can’t wait for testing to start next week!"

Arden team boss Garry Horner added: “We are delighted to welcome Tatiana back into the Arden fold.

"Her recent testing results in Formula 2 have been very impressive and I am certain she will be a strong teammate alongside Anthoine.”

Calderon got her first taste of F1 machinery late last year in two outings with Sauber, one in a current car in Mexico City and one in a 2013-spec machine at Ferrari test track Fiorano.

It's not yet clear whether she will maintain her association with the rebranded Alfa Romeo squad for 2019.

The 25-year-old also made her first forays into Formula E over the winter with test appearances in both Riyadh and Marrakesh for the frontrunning DS Techeetah team.

2019 FIA F2 grid so far:

Team Drivers
ART Grand Prix

Russian Federation Nikita Mazepin

Netherlands Nyck de Vries 

Prema Racing

Germany Mick Schumacher

Indonesia Sean Gelael 


Japan Nobuharu Matsushita

 Louis Deletraz


China Guan Yu Zhou

Italy Luca Ghiotto


France Giuliano Alesi



Canada Nicholas Latifi 

Brazil Sergio Sette Camara 

Charouz United Kingdom Callum Ilott
United States Juan Manuel Correa

United Kingdom Jack Aitken



France Anthoine Hubert

Colombia Tatiana Calderon