BPL 2019: Team of the Tournament

Debjyoti Bhakta

Comilla Victorians clinched the 2019 BPL title

The 2019 Bangladesh Premier League was held between 5th January and 8th February. The seven teams involved in the tournament were Chittagong Vikings, Comilla Victorians, Dhaka Dynamites, Khulna Titans, Rajshahi Kings, Rangpur Riders and Sylhet Sixers. The matches were organised at Chittagong, Dhaka and Sylhet.

Comilla Victorians defeated Dhaka Dynamites by 17 runs in the final and won the sixth edition of the tournament. They won the title for the second time in BPL history.

Let us now take a look at the best XI of the tournament.


#1 Alex Hales (Rangpur Riders)

Alex Hales

Alex Hales had a mixed tournament. He had a poor start, but he made a comeback by scoring 55 against Khulna on 22 January at Dhaka. In their next match against Chittagong on 25 January, he scored a 47-ball century.

As a result, he became the second centurion of BPL 2019. But, he left the knockout stages due to a shoulder injury. He is the second highest run-scorer for Riders in the tournament.

Matches- 8, Runs- 304, HS- 100, Average- 43.42, Strike Rate- 167.03

#2 Tamim Iqbal (Comilla Victorians)

Tamim Iqbal

Tamim Iqbal is the most influential Bangladeshi batsman. He recorded the highest individual score of BPL 2019. He scored a 61-ball 141 against Dhaka Dynamites in the final of the tournament at Dhaka, and it was his first BPL century. He single-handedly won the title for his team. He concluded the tournament as the second highest run-scorer.

Matches- 14, Runs- 467, HS- 141*, Average- 38.91, Strike Rate- 133.81


#3 Rilee Rossouw (Rangpur Riders)

Rilee Rossouw

Rilee Rossouw was known for his consistency in this tournament. He is the first South African player to score a century in BPL history. He along with Alex Hales became the first pair in the tournament to score centuries in the same innings. He achieved it against Chittagong on 25 January. He is the first batsman in the history of the competition to amass 500+ runs in a season.

Matches- 14, Runs- 558, HS- 100*, Average- 69.75, Strike Rate- 150

#4 Mushfiqur Rahim (Chittagong Vikings)

Mushfiqur Rahim

Mushfiqur Rahim had no burden with his batting during his captaincy in the tournament. He has been the most successful Bangladeshi wicket-keeper. He scored the third-highest runs in the season. His highest individual score in the competition was 75 against Victorians on 13 January at Dhaka.

Matches- 13, Runs- 426, HS- 75, Average- 35.5, Strike Rate- 139.21

#5 Nicholas Pooran (wk) (Sylhet Sixers)

Nicholas Pooran

Nicholas Pooran is an apparent choice for the franchises in the T20 leagues across the world. He is a top order batsman, and he has proved his worth in the tournament. He will be the wicket-keeper in this XI. He is the highest run-getter for Sylhet in the tournament. His highest individual score is 76 not out against Rajshahi. He has hit the most sixes in the competition.

Matches- 11, Runs- 379, HS- 76*, Average- 47.37, Strike Rate- 159.91

#6 Yasir Ali (Chittagong Vikings)

Yasir Ali

Yasir Ali is the only uncapped player in this XI. He is a top order batsman, and he has proved his worth in the tournament. He is the second highest run-scorer for Vikings in the tournament. His highest individual score was 78 against Riders on 25 January. But it went in vain as Vikings lost the match by 72 runs.

Matches- 11, Runs- 307, HS- 78, Average- 27.9, Strike Rate- 124.29


#7 Shakib Al Hasan (c) (Dhaka Dynamites)

Shakib Al Hasan

Shakib is selected to lead this XI. He is the most influential all-rounder in cricketing history. He had a fine campaign with the bat, but he concluded the tournaments as the highest wicket-taker. His highest score was 61 not out against Sylhet on 18 January. His best bowling figures are 4/16 against Vikings on 21 January.

Matches- 15, Runs- 301, HS- 61*, Average- 21.5, Strike Rate- 113.15

Wickets-23, BBI-4/16, Economy- 7.25

#8 Shahid Afridi (Comilla Victorians)

Shahid Afridi

Shahid Afridi is one of the most accomplished all-rounders in cricket. Though, he had a forgettable campaign with the bat. But, he has picked wickets at crucial times. His best bowling figures are 3/10 against Rajshahi on 11 January. His best batting performance was against Sylhet Sixers on 6 January where he scored an unbeaten 39 off 25 balls.

Matches- 13, Runs- 141, HS- 39*, Average- 20.14, Strike Rate- 136.89

Wickets-16, BBI-3/10, Economy- 6.15


#9 Mashrafe Mortaza (Rangpur Riders)

Mashrafe Mortaza

Mashrafe Mortaza led Rangpur Riders in this tournament. He has been the leading bowler for Bangladesh. He is the joint second-most wicket-taker in the tournament. His best bowling figures are 4/11 against Comilla on 8 January at Dhaka.

Matches- 14, Wickets- 22, BBI- 4/11, Economy- 7.03

#10 Taskin Ahmed (Sylhet Sixers)

Taskin Ahmed

Taskin Ahmed had a great tournament this season. He is the joint second-most wicket-taker in the tournament. His exceptional performances were rewarded with the recall to the Bangladesh side touring to New Zealand. But he has been sidelined due to the ankle injury. His best bowling figures are 4/28 against Vikings on 9 January at Dhaka.

Matches- 12, Wickets- 22, BBI- 4/28, Economy- 8.55

#11 Rubel Hossain (Dhaka Dynamites)

Rubel Hossain

Rubel is the trustworthy bowler for Bangladesh in the limited overs format. He has been troubling the opposition with his pace. He is the joint second-most wicket-taker in the tournament. His best bowling figures are 4/23 against Riders on 6 February at Dhaka.

Matches- 15, Wickets- 22, BBI- 4/23, Economy- 7.72