BJP wins Rajouri Garden by-polls, AAP loses deposit

In a major blow to the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the Rajouri Garden by-polls. A BJP win means another seat for the party in a 70-member assembly dominated by Arvind Kejriwal's AAP. AAP had fielded a newcomer Harjeet Singh in Rajouri Garden, while the BJP's candidate is a seasoned politician Manjinder Singh Sirsa. The seat had been empty after AAP legislator Jarnail Singh had resigned earlier this year to take on former chief minister Parkash Singh Badal of the Akali Dal.