BJP leader inducted as nominated member of Pondy Assembly

·1-min read

Puducherry, Feb 1 (PTI): Vice-president of the Puducherry unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) T Vikraman was on Monday inducted as a nominated member of the territorial Assembly.

Assembly Speaker V P Sivakolundhu administered the oath of office to Vikraman, an official source told PTI.

The Union Home Ministry had issued the notification on January 29 appointing Vikraman as a nominated member of the House.

The appointment became necessary to fill the vacancy caused by the death of K G Shankar, also a nominated member, on January 17.

The option of nominated members is available under the provisions of the government of Union Territories Act 1963.

With the induction, the strength of the nominated members of the saffron party in the Assembly has been restored to three.

The two other nominated members are V Saminathan and Selvaganapathy.

The ruling Congress has 12 members, including the Speaker, while the DMK, an alliance partner of the Congress, has three and there is one Independent member from the lone Assembly segment in Mahe.

There are three vacancies on the treasury side following the resignation of A Namassivayam and E Theeppainthan on January 25, who joined the BJP, and the disqualification of a Congress member N Dhanavelou in July last for his alleged anti-government and anti-party activities.

Puducherry is set for Assembly polls in the next few months. PTI COR NVG NVG