BJP, IPFT to jointly contest Tripura tribal council polls

Agartala (Tripura), March 10 (ANI): During a joint press conference of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) on seat sharing in the forthcoming Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) election, the party declared to jointly contest the elections. Out of 28 TTAADC seats, BJP is going to contest 11 seats while IPFT will fight 14 seats and both parties shall contest in three seats. IPFT president and Revenue Minister N C Debbarma, general secretary Mevar Kumar Jamatia ,also the Forest and Tribal Welfare Minister, addressed the press conference along with BJP president Dr. Manik Saha and Deputy CM Jishnu Dev Varman took part. Earlier IPFT formed an alliance with the newly formed Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (TIPRA) party and later breaking the alliance had unilaterally declared 18 candidates' names and left 10 seats for which they were supposed to declare the names of the candidates. TIPRA chairman Pradyot Kishore Deb Barman said they would contest the poll alone.