How BJP got the better of Okram Ibobi Singh in Manipur: All you need to know in 10 points

BJP President Amit Shah had said his party would form the government in four states, including Manipur, as early as Saturday when the election results were just declared.

As BJP looks set to form government in Goa under the leadership of Manohar Parrikar, in Manipur too, the BJP seems to have stolen the thunder from three-time chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh.

An out-of-depth Okram Ibobi resigned from the chief minister's post on Monday night, paving way for the formation of a new government in the state.

While the Congress knocked on the Supreme Court's door to challenge Manohar Parrikar's appointment as Goa chief minister, it remains to be seen if it adopts a similar strategy to counter BJP's claim to form government in Manipur.



  1. As Assembly election results started trickling in on Saturday morning, it became clear that the BJP was challenging the might of Congress Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh. By evening, the BJP had won 21 seats against 28 seats by the ruling Congress in the 60-member Assembly. With none of the parties getting a clear majority, small, regional parties were the kingmakers.
  2. Addressing a press conference after the election results were nearly declared, BJP President Amit Shah said the party would form government in four states--Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur.
  3. In spite of not getting the maximum seats in Goa and Manipur, BJP has nearly managed to clinch them on the back of hectic parleying and deft strategy by the BJP brass.
  4. Within 48 hours of the Assembly election results being announced, the BJP named former journalist and minister Nongthombam Biren Singh as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Manipur and met Governor Nejma Heptullah to stake claim to form the next government.
  5. Senior BJP leaders and Cabinet ministers Piyush Goyal and Prakash Javedekar had been camping in Manipur and holding talks with various regional parties to ensure that the BJP forms the government in Manipur--a major victory after winning Assam last year.
  6. On Monday, the BJP leadership with their 21 MLAs, along with National People's Party president and four party MLAs, four MLAs from Naga People's Front, one Congress MLA who defected to the BJP, a Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) MLA met the Governor. The BJP claimed it enjoyed the support of 32 MLAs in the 60-member Assembly, leaving Okram Ibobi Singh shocked.
  7. Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla asked incumbent Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh submit his resignation. During the meeting with the Governor, Ibobi showed the list of 28 Congress MLAs and claimed the support of National People's Party (NPP), which won four seats in the election.
  8. The Governor, not satisfied with the "ordinary piece of paper" showing support of four MLAs of NPP, asked Okram Ibobi Singh to bring the NPP MLAs and the president to the Governor's house to prove majority. Okram Ibobi Singh resigned from the chief minister's post and staked claim to form the government in Manipur.
  9. Later, NPP leader Conrad Sangma called the letter of support shown by the Congress as "fake", dashing Okram Ibobi Singh's hopes of a fourth-term as the chief minister.
  10. N Biren Singh is now set to stake claim to form the next government. Singh, who was a cabinet minister in the Congress government for more than 10 years, joined the BJP last year.



BJP's late night coup in Manipur leaves three-time CM Ibobi stunned

Manipur Governor asks CM O Ibobi Singh to submit resignation