Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 3: 55.22% Turnout Recorded, Lower Than 56.66% in 2015, Says EC

Team Latestly
·2-min read

Patna, November 7: The last leg of Bihar assembly polls 2020 ended on Saturday, with polling coming to a halt at voting booths across the 78 constituencies at around 6 pm. Shortly after the polls ended, the Election Commission issued a statement to announce a total voter turnout of 55.22 percent. Track Exit Poll Live Updates Here.

Also Read | Exit Poll Results of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: Republic TV-Jan Ki Baat Predicts Victory For RJD-Led Mahagathbandhan With 118-138 Seats, NDA Likely to be Second With 91-117 Seats

The numbers are down as compared to 2015, when 56.66 percent of the registered electorate had cast their votes. Analysts, however, are viewing the figures optimistically as more than half of the voters turned out to the register their mandate despite the onset of COVID-19 pandemic.

The third and final phase of elections to the Bihar Assembly, according to EX officials, was by and large peaceful. The 78 polling constituencies were spread over 15 districts, largely based in eastern Bihar and Kosi-Seemanchal region.

Also Read | Exit Poll Results of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: ABP News-CVoter Predicts Majority For RJD-Led Mahagathbandhan With 108-131 Seats

Violence was reported in Purnea district, where, a younger brother of an RJD supporter was allegedly gunned down by unidentified assailants. Stray incidents of chaos was also reported in Katihar district.

The numbers released till 5 pm showed maximum voting in Muslim-dominated Kishanganj, where, 59.77 per cent polling was recorded. Supaul witnessed 57.90 percent turnout, Saharsa 55.73, and Purnea 55.63.

Other districts like East Champaran has registered polling percentage of 54.78, Sitamarhi 52.27, Araria 50.90, Madhepura 54.03, Muzaffarpur 54.54, Darbhanga 55.03, Samastipur 52.76 and Vaishali 49.97 till 5 pm.

The exit poll predictions will be out today, as the voting has been concluded for all the phases. The official results are expected to be declared on November 10, when the Election Commission has scheduled the counting of votes.