The Biggest Six Of Each IPL Season

Prasad Mandati

When did Dhoni hit the biggest six of the season?

Since its inception in 2008, the Indian Premier League has been one of the greatest platforms for the young exciting players from all over the globe to showcase their talent to the cricketing world.

In the 11 editions of the IPL that have been played, the cash-rich league has entertained every cricket aficionado to the fullest by offering some quality action. Though the contest is primarily between bat and ball, it was those towering monstrous hits that enthralled the crowds the most.

Hitting a six is an art and not many players are blessed with it. While the players like MS Dhoni, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya etc. use brute power send the ball into the stands, the likes of Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli etc. rely on pure timing to deposit one over the ropes.

A total of 7272 sixes have been hit in the first 11 editions of the Indian Premier League with Chris Gayle contributing 292 of them. In this context, let us now take a look at the largest six in each season of the IPL:

#1 IPL 2008: Albie Morkel (CSK) against Pragyan Ojha (DC) - 125 Meters

Albie Morkel

The Proteas all-rounder, Albie Morkel, was one among the most destructive players in the early 2000s. Given his hard-hitting capabilities and medium-fast bowling, it was a luxury for any captain to have him in the team. Rightly, he was drafted into CSK line-up for the inaugural edition of the Indian T20 League.

During a league match of the first IPL edition against Deccan Chargers at Chepauk Stadium, Chennai, Pragyan Ojha bowled a flighted delivery. The elder Morkel got into an excellent position and deposited the ball over the mid-wicket region for a gigantic 125 meters six. It still holds the honour of being the longest six in the history of the tournament.

The ball went so long that the commentators exclaimed that it probably went to Marina Beach. Unable to get the ball back, the umpires called for a new one.

#2 IPL 2009: Yuvraj Singh(KXIP) against Albie Morkel (CSK) - 119 Meters

Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh is one of the cleanest hitters of the cricket ball. He has been a nightmare for bowlers since his debut back in 2000.

During the 34th match of the IPL 2 between CSK and KXIP at Centurion, KXIP were chasing a huge total of 186 runs. Albie Morkel bowled a full delivery at Yuvraj's pads. The southpaw cleared his front foot and smacked the ball for a 118 meter six over the mid-wicket region to record the biggest six of the second edition of the Indian Premier League.

#3 IPL 2010: Robin Uthappa(RCB) against Dwayne Bravo (MI) - 120 Meters

Robin Uthappa

The batsman from Karnataka, Robin Uthappa, is a match-winner in the shortest format. Known for his powerful hitting, the right-hander is a valuable addition for any T20 team.

Playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2010, Uthappa showed his class during the season when he smashed Chennai Super Kings' Dwayne Bravo's length delivery for a 120-meter searing six over long on. That six went on to become the biggest hit of the 2010 IPL in terms of distance.


#4 IPL 2011: Adam Gilchrist(KXIP) against Charles Langeveldt (RCB) - 122 Meters

Adam Gilchrist

The former Australia wicketkeeper-batsman, Adam Gilchrist, was one of the cleanest strikers of the cricket in his playing days. Leading Kings XI Punjab in 2011 IPL, the southpaw hit a massive six off the Proteas bowler, Charles Langeveldt.

Langeveldt slipped in a slower delivery to the Punjab skipper. Reading the slower ball, Gilchrist positioned himself perfectly and deposited the ball over the mid-wicket region for a 122 meter six. That hit from Gilly stool tall till the end of the season to become the biggest hit of the 2011 IPL.

#5 IPL 2012: MS Dhoni (CSK) against James Franklin (MI) - 112 Meters

MS Dhoni

Unlike many big-hitters, MS Dhoni relies largely on power to send the ball over the ropes. His powerful helicopter shots are highly adored by every cricket aficionado in the world.

During a CSK vs MI game in the 5th edition of the Indian Premier League, the former New Zealand fast bowler, James Franklin, dished out a full-length ball. The quintessential wicketkeeper-batsman picked the bones out of it by depositing the ball over the long-on area to record the longest hit of the season. The ball traveled to 112 meters into the stands.

#6 IPL 2013: Chris Gayle (RCB) against Ashok Dinda (PWI) - 112 Meters

Chris Gayle

Fondly known as the "Universe Boss", Chris Gayle is undoubtedly the most dangerous batsman in the history of T20 Cricket. On his day, he can tear apart any bowling attack with his destructive batting.

During his record-shattering knock of 66-ball-175 against Pune Warriors India in 2013, Gayle deposited a juicy full toss from Ashok Dinda into the stands for a 112-meter six to record the biggest six of the season.

#7 IPL 2014: David Miller (KXIP) against Harshal Patel (RCB) - 102 Meters

David Miller

The left-handed batsman from South Africa is renowned for his power hitting. After his exploits for Kings XI Punjab in the 2013 IPL season, Miller was retained for the 2014 season.

When it comes to blasting the ball in the slog overs, there are only a few batsmen better than David Miller in world cricket.

During the 31st match of the 2014 IPL season, RCB's Harshal Patel bowled a length ball on off stump. Miller raced down the track and lofted the ball through the line over long-on to hit the roof of the Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. That hit traveled to 102 meters to top the list of sixes hit in that season, in terms of distance.

#8 IPL 2015: AB de Villiers (RCB) against Lasith Malinga (MI) - 108 Meters

AB de Villiers

One of the finest batsman to have ever graced the game of cricket, AB de Villiers, is one among the very few players who are equally loved in all parts of the cricketing world.

Known for his 360-degree stroke-play, him featuring in this list is no surprise. During the 16th Match of the 2015 IPL between RCB and MI, Malinga bowled one short. Reading the ball early, ABD got into the position and hammered it over deep mid-wicket for a 108-meter six. That hit was the longest of the season.

#9 IPL 2016: Ben Cutting (SRH) against Shane Watson (RCB) - 117 Meters

Ben Cutting

Known for his hard-hitting ability and more than handy fast bowling, the tall all-rounder from Australia was signed by the Sunrisers Hyderabad for the ninth edition of the IPL.

During the final of 2016 IPL between SRH and RCB, Ben Cutting of SRH set the stage on fire on the big day. When Cutting was batting on 16 in the final over, Shane Watson of RCB bowled a full-toss.

Cutting pummeled the cherry high over the deep square leg to clear the Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. The ball traveled a distance of 117 meters to become the longest six of the season.

#10 IPL 2017: Travis Head (RCB) against Umesh Yadav (KKR) - 109 Meters

Travis Head

The 24-year old Aussie young talent, Travis Head, first came into the limelight when he hit three consecutive sixes to record a win for Adelaide Strikers over Sydney Sixers, during the 2016 Big-Bash league.

Playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2017 IPL, the southpaw hit KKR's Umesh Yadav for a 109-meter six over long on to hit one of the flood-light pillars at Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. That hit went on to top the chart of longest sixes of that season.

#11 IPL 2018: AB de Villiers (RCB) against Imran Tahir (CSK) - 111 Meters

AB de Villiers

After depositing Lasith Malinga's short ball over deep mid wicket to record the longest six (108 meters) of the season in 2015, Mr. 360 went on to repeat that feat in the last edition of the IPL.

In the 11th over of the 24th match of IPL 11 between RCB and CSK, de Villiers hit his compatriot Imran Tahir over mid-wicket for a monstrous 111 meters long six. The cherry sailed over the top-tier of Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore to become the biggest of the season.