Best FIFA Football Awards 2020: Lewandowski leads 11-man shortlist

Rajdeep Saha
·2-min read

Best FIFA Football Awards 2020: Lewandowski leads 11-man shortlist
Best FIFA Football Awards 2020: Lewandowski leads 11-man shortlist

25 Nov 2020: Best FIFA Football Awards 2020: Lewandowski leads 11-man shortlist

Bayern Munich talisman Robert Lewandowski, who won the treble with the club in a brilliant 2019-20 campaign, heads the shortlist for the Best FIFA Men's Player award.

The Polish international joined regulars Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi in the 11-man shortlist.

Meanwhile, Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp is on the men's manager shortlist.

Here are the complete details of Best FIFA Football Awards 2020.

Numbers: Lewandowski was unstoppable in 2019-20 season

Bayern's Lewandowski was top scorer in the Champions League 2019-20 season (15 goals), as well as the Bundesliga (34) and the DFB Pokal (6).

He ended up with 55 goals from 47 games across competitions.

This was the highest tally by a player in Europe's top five domestic leagues.

He has carried the form this season as well, scoring 13 goals already.

Award: Lewandowski is the favorite to claim the award

Earlier, the Bayern ace was adjudged UEFA Men's Player of the Year award for 2019-2020.

The former Borussia Dortmund star beat off competition from Manchester City mid-fielder Kevin De Bruyne and Bayern team-mate Manuel Neuer.

Meanwhile, Lewandowski also bagged the award as the Forward of the Season for the 2019-20 UEFA Champions League.

His success was unprecedented both individually and team wise.

Shortlist: Here's the full men's player shortlist

Thiago Alcantara (Spain, Liverpool)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus)

Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City)

Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern Munich)

Sadio Mane (Senegal, Liverpool)

Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris St-Germain)

Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona)

Neymar (Brazil, Paris St-Germain)

Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)

Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands, Liverpool)

Best manager: A look at the five-man managerial shortlist

Five managers made the cut for the Best FIFA managerial awards.

Marcelo Bielsa, who led Leeds United to Premier League promotion, was named alongside Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp.

Hansi Flick, who helped Bayern win the treble is a genuine contender to win the award.

Julen Lopetegui earned a nomination for helping Sevilla win the Europa League.

Real Madrid's Zinedine Zidane was included as well.

Fact: FIFA Puskas Award: Here are the nominees

Tottenham forward Son Heung-min's goal against Burnley has been nominated for FIFA's Puskas Award. Besides him, Wales captain Sophie Ingle's Women's Super League goal for Chelsea against Arsenal made the cut. Dundalk's Jordan Flores' goal against Shamrock Rovers was included as well.