BCCI Announce Team India Squad for First T20I vs Australia

India batsman Manish Pandey has been excluded from the twelve for the first T20 International against Australia, scheduled to be played in Brisbane on 21 November. Captain Virat Kohli will be back in action after skipping the T20I series against West Indies at home.

The other cricketers who have been left out for the opening tie of the three-match series are Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar and Umesh Yadav.

Also Read: In Stats: Why India Are Favourites Against Australia in T20 Series

The T20I series is the first rubber in India’s all-important tour Down Under which will also feature four Tests, followed by three One Day Internationals.

The touring side has won its previous seven T20I series dating back to November 2017, and its last defeat in the format was against West Indies in July last year. Not to mention, on their last visit here, the Men in Blue won the T20I series 3-0.

Team India for 1st T20I vs Australia

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal

Also Read: Why This is India’s Best Chance to Come Out on Top, Down Under

Dinesh Karthik has been retained in the team, but it is Rishabh Pant who will be donning the keeping gloves.

KL Rahul too has kept his place in the team, despite his current form which is nothing to write home about. He managed only 16, 26 not out and 17 against the West Indies in the recent T20I series. In England, the skipper Kohli had batted at number four, allowing KL Rahul to bat at number three in light of his stupendous form in the 2018 Indian Premier League.

For live updates from the first India vs Australia T20I, click here.

. Read more on Cricket by The Quint.RSS & BJP’s Nehru-Netaji ‘Cosplay’: Irony Dies a Thousand DeathsInd vs Aus T20I LIVE: Rohit Out, India 35/1 Chasing 174 in 17 . Read more on Cricket by The Quint.