Assembly Election Results Live: Counting in 5 states begins

Assembly Election Results 2017 Live: BJP leads on 201 seats in UP; Congress ahead in Punjab

Assembly Elections Results Live: Counting in 5 states begins

The counting of votes to determine the fate of five states -Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa- has begun.

The Election Commission has issued guidelines on security arrangements for the process of counting.

Preparations for counting of votes were reviewd by the Chief Electoral officer through video conferencing.

The counting process will be video graphed.

Here are the Live updates:

08:37 am: Parkash Singh Badal in Punjab is leading from Lambi. Capt Amarinder Singh is second and AAP's Jarnail Singh is third. 

08: 37 am: Uttar Pradesh registers BJP's lead on 29 seats, while SP and BSP are ahead on 20 and 16.

08:35 am: In Manipur - INC - 1, BJP -1.

08:30 am: In Punjab, Shiromani Akali Dal is ahead on 2 seats, Congress on 12 and Aam Aadmi Party on 2.

08:20 am: Samajwadi Party is leading on 8 seats while BJP and BSP are leading on 7 and 6 respectively in Uttar Pradesh.

08:15 am: BSP leading from Bulandshahr in Uttar Pradesh.

08:00 am: Counting begins.