Assembly elections: Chandrababu Naidu wiped out from Andhra, Naveen Patnaik’s victory certain

Yamini Kalra
From left- Arunachal Pradesh CM Pema Khandu, Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik, Sikkim CM Pawan Chamling, and Andhra Pradesh CM Naveen Patnaik

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu is likely to tender his resignation later on Thursday, after Assembly election results projected a win for the YSR Congress in the state. Naidu’s TDP, which contested the elections alone for the first time since 2004, has essentially been wiped out of the state, with Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSR Congress leading in over 150 seats out of the total 175.

Meanwhile, Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (BJD) is set to form government in Odisha for the fifth straight term, albeit, not without a tough fight by the BJP. With its candidates leading in 112 of the state’s 146 seats, the BJD has evaded the Modi wave that has gripped other states.

The country s longest serving Chief Minister Pawan Kumar Chamling is also set to get a sixth term in office, with the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) having dominated the political space in the state. In Arunachal too, Pema Khandu is likely to retain power with the BJP leading in 12 seats and winning 4 out of a total of 17 seats.

Along with the Lok Sabha elections, four states — Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, and Arunachal Pradesh — voted simultaneously to elect their Assemblies.

Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh has a 175-member Legislative Assembly, of which 126 seats were won by the Telegu Desam Party in alliance with the BJP in 2014. The TDP split from the NDA last year after the ruling party reneged on its promise to grant Special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

Follow Assembly Election results LIVE updates

Although Naidu has joined a front of non-NDA parties nationally, the TDP has not tied up with any party in the state for the elections. After 2004, this is the first time TDP contested without a pre-poll alliance. Chandrababu Naidu has been the chief minister of the state for over 13 years, from 1995 to 2004, then again from 2014 after the state’s bifurcation.

Chandrababu Naidu riding a cycle in an election rally

This time, the throne is set to be claimed by YSR Congress’ Jagan Mohan Reddy, whose resurgence was marked by his 11-month long Padyatra and gelled well with the resentment on the ground with the TDP after its growing affinity with the Congress party in the non-NDA front. While the TDP has soured its relations with the BJP and the TRS, Jagan has maintained amicable relations with them, making his position in the political set up of the state very strong.

Andhra Pradesh voted on April 11 in the first phase of the elections.


Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (BJD) will return to power in the state for the fifth consecutive time, as per early trends by the Election Commission. The trends have predicted that Patnaik will return for another term with a comfortable majority, but not without a fight from the BJP.

Guarding the gates in Odisha: Naveen Patnaik, the CM

Patnaik is seeking his fifth term which would make him one of India s longest-serving chief ministers. He has been the chief minister of Odisha since 2002. In an interview with The Indian Express, Patnaik said he is committed and content to work for the people of Odisha and has no national ambitions whatsoever.

Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik (File Photo)

Despite his popularity, this election was Patnaik s toughest with the BJP having set its sights on Odisha. Over the past few years, the BJP has steadily gained ground in the state, with many colleagues of Patnaik, including his once close-aide Jay Panda quitting the party citing humiliation

Odisha voted on April 11 in the first phase of the elections.

Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh, which has a 60-member Legislative Assembly, had voted Congress to power in 2014. But with a majority of the ruling party leaders defecting to the BJP, the saffron party came to power with Pema Khandu as the chief minister. Khandu had defected to the BJP in 2016. He is likely to retain power with the results showing a lead of 16 seats for the BJP.

Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu with Prime Minister Narendra Modi

The BJP appears to have triumphed the resentment over the controversy surrounding the granting of Permanent Residence Certificate (PRC) to members of six tribal communities as well as the Citizenship Bill. The state government, however, later declined to implement the PRC proposal after widespread violence in the state that left three people dead and several injured.

Arunachal Pradesh voted on April 11 in the first phase of the elections.


Country s longest-serving Chief Minister Pawan Kumar Chamling from Sikkim is eyeing a record sixth term in office. Having ruled for over 24 years, the Sikkim Democratic Front appears confident of returning to power as it dominates the political space in the state.

Despite being part of the BJP-led Northeastern Democratic Alliance (NEDA), the SDF has decided to go alone in the elections in the state with 32 assembly seats.

Sikkim chief minister Pawan Kumar Chamling. (Source: Facebook)

Chamling contested from Poklok-Kamrang and Namchi-Singhithang constituencies, while footballer-turned politician Bhaichung Bhutia, who has founded Humro Sikkim Party, is contesting from Gangtok and Tumen Lingi seats.

The SDF included in its manifesto the Universal Basic Income (UBI), that requires that every person should have a right to a basic income to cover their needs, just by virtue of being citizens by 2020. The North-eastern state will be the first in India to implement the scheme if SDF comes to power again.

Sikkim voted on April 11 in the first phase of the elections.