Assam bye-election results 2017 for Dhemaji constituency to be declared today; will BJP retain or Congress regain?

Uddipta Das
BJP's Ranoj Pegu and Congress's Babul Sonowal are in the prime focus of this bypoll and all eyes are on them.

Guwahati, April 13: The Assam bye-election 2017 result for the one seat in Dhemaji constituency will be declared today once the counting of votes comes to an end. Counting of the votes will begin from 8 am and hopefully soon after that the results will be declared. The polling for the Dhemaji legislative assembly was held on April 9 and it recorded approximately 67% voter turn out at the end of the day. Polling in Dhemaji went peacefully with no reports of untoward incidents. However, initially in one of the polling booth voting began a bit late due to technical fault.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA Pradan Baruah was elected as a member of the parliament from Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat after Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal left his parliamentary seat, and this is what necessitated the bypolls. Five candidates are contesting for this seat, but it seems that the main contenders are BJP’s Ranoj Pegu and Congress’s Babul Sonowal, as they are in the prime focus of this bypoll and all eyes are on them.

The other candidates are Hem Kanta Miri from SUCI(C), Communist Party of India (CPI-M) candidate Jadu Hazarika and independent candidate Rajkumar Doley.

Returning Officer Roshni Aparanji Korati said that the polling was peaceful and there were reports of 66.97 per cent of voting till 5 pm on the polling day. However, she claimed that 11 Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and 20 Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines had to be replaced during the polls due to technical faults.

The constituency has a total of 2, 19, 751 voters and out it, 1,12,510 are male voters and 1,07,241 are female voters. Also 20 out of  273 polling booths has been categorised as as very sensitive while 141 of them has been labelled as sensitive booths.