'Egyptian King' Mohamed Salah wins PFA Player of the Year

Rodney Dsouza

23 Apr 2018: 'Egyptian King' Mohamed Salah wins PFA Player of the Year

Liverpool's Mohamed Salah has been crowned the Premier League's Players' Player of the Year after a wonderful debut season with the Anfield based Liverpool.

The 25-year-old Egyptian pipped Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne to the top award.

Salah became now the second African player to lift the award after Leicester City's Riyad Mahrez won it in 2016.

Well deserved: Mo Salah beats Kevin De Bruyne to top prize

The 25-year-old Salah, who was signed for a bargain price of £34 mn from Roma in the summer, has scored 41 goals in 46 appearances for the Anfield club.

Salah has been vital for Liverpool in securing a top-four finish and reaching the semi-final of the Champions League.

The last Liverpool player to win the accolade was Luis Suarez, who won it in 2014.

Contest banner

Fact: Salah keen on adding Champions League medal to his cabinet

"It's a big honour. I don't think about myself. The most important thing is to win something with the team and we're very close now with the semi-final. Hopefully we're going to win. The team has helped me a lot," Salah said.

Top honour: Sane scoops PFA Young Player of the Year award

Manchester City's Leroy Sane was handed the Young Player of the Year award.

The 22-year-old saw off competition from team-mates Ederson and Raheem Sterling, along with Tottenham's Harry Kane, Fulham's Ryan Sessegnon and Manchester United's young striker Marcus Rashford.

Sane is the first City player to win the prize in 42 years after Peter Barnes.