Anantnag election result: Crucial battle for Mehbooba Mufti as seat register just 9% turnout

FE Online
Anantnag election result, Anantnag live, Anantnag lok sabha election

Anantnag Lok Sabha election result 2019: The Anantnag Lok Sabha seat is one of the six parliamentary seats in Jammu and Kashmir. This south Kashmir constituency comprises four districts — Anantnag, Kulgam, Shopian and Pulwama. It has following assembly segments — Tral, Pampore, Pulwama, Rajpora, Wachi, Shopian, Noorabad, Kulgam, Homshalibug, Anantnag, Devsar, Doru, Kokarnag, Shangas, Bijbehara and Pahalgam.

In 2014, PDP leader Mehbooba Mufti had won from here, defeating NC’s Hasnain Masoodi and Congress’ Ghulam Ahmad Mir by 65,417 votes. However, she vacated the seat after becoming the Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir in 2016. The bypolls on the seat couldn t be held due to security concerns. The total percentage of votes polled in 2014 was 28.84%.

ALSO READ: Click here for latest updates on Lok Sabha Elections 2019

This time, the Election Commission decided to hold elections in three phases — April 23, April 29 and May 6 and reduce the polling timing by two hours. The decision was taken in the wake of terror threats during the elections.

Mufti is again seeking election from here. She is up against retired judge and National Conference’s Husnain Masoodi. The Congress has fielded former minister and Congress state president Ghulam Ahmad Mir. The BJP has given a ticket to Sofi Yousuf.

According to Election Commission data, polling in Anantnag was largely peaceful but the turnout couldn’t even reach double figures. The overall turnout in the constituency after all the three phases was 9%. The constituency has over 13 lakh registered voters. In the first phase of the polling on April 23, Anantnag saw the highest turnout at 13.61%. The second phase on April 29 witnessed 10.32% voting and the third phase on May 6 recorded 3% polling.