Amritsar Lok Sabha Constituency in Punjab: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019

Team Latestly

Amritsar is one of the 13 Lok Sabha Constituencies of Punjab. The voting for the parliamentary polls 2019 on this seat will take place in the seventh phase on May 19. It is located in the Majha region of the state. The city was founded by the fourth Sikh Guru, Sri Guru Ram Das and was earlier known as Ramdaspur. Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency is not reserved for any category, and the seat number of this constituency is 2. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

Also Read | Rajeev Kumar, Former Kolkata Police Chief Reports to MHA After EC Relieved From Duty as Additional Director General of CID

This time, there will a tough contest between the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The Congress has fielded sitting MP Gurjeet Singh Aujla, while the BJP has given the ticket to Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri from Amritsar. The last date of filing nomination for the seat was April 22. The scrutiny of nominations papers took place on April 30. Meanwhile, the last date of withdrawal of candidature was May 2. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase VII: List of States And Constituencies Voting on May 19.

Here are important details about the phase-VII elections:

Also Read | Pragya Singh Thakur Apologises For Calling Nathuram Godse a 'Patriot', Says 'It Was My Personal Opinion'

Issue of Notification April 22
Last date for filing nomination April 29
Scrutiny of nomination April 30
Last date for withdrawal of candidature May 2
Date of Poll May 19
Date of Result May 23

Watch: Details of Lok Sabha Polls Phase VII

Amritsar has always been the Congress’ strong bastion. Out of the last 19 Lok Sabha elections (including by polls), the grand old party had won 12 times. In 2014, Captain Amarinder Singh of Congress defeated Finance Minister Arun Jaitley from Amritsar. After the assembly elections 2017, he resigned from the seat to become the chief minister of the state. In the by-poll Congress’ Gurjeet Singh Aujla defeated Rajinder Mohan Chhina of the BJP. However, from 2004 to 2014, Navjot Singh Sidhu was the BJP MP from this seat. Later, in 2016, he joined Congress.

List of States And Constituencies That Will Vote On April 11 In Phase VII:

State (No. of seats voting in this phase) Constituencies
Bihar (8) Nalanda, Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Sasaram, Kurakat, Jahanabad
Jharkhand (3) Rajmahal, Dumka, Godda
Madhya Pradesh (8) Dewas, Ujjain, Mandsaur, Ratlam, Dhar, Indore, Khargone, Khandwa
Punjab (13) Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Anandpur Sahib, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Firozpur, Bathinda, Sangrur, Patiala
West Bengal (9) Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, Kolkata Uttar
Chandigarh (1) Chandigarh
Uttar Pradesh (13) Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushi Nagar, Deoria, Bansgaon, Ghosi, Salempur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Mirzapur, Robertsganj
Himachal Pradesh (4) Kangra, Mandi, Hamirpur, Shimla

Meanwhile, on March 10, the Election Commission of India announced dates for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The elections will take place in seven phases, and the results will be declared on May 23. The polls will be held in 1,035,918 polling stations across the country compared to 928,000 set up during the last Lok Sabha election in 2014.