Shiv Sena Hits Out at BJP Over TDP Ministers Quitting Modi Cabinet, Says Other Parties Will Walk Out of NDA

New Delhi, March 8: The Shiv Sena on Thursday hit out at its ally Bharatiya Janata Party saying allies do not share a good relation with the saffron party. The remarks came after the Telugu Desam Party decided that its MPs will quit the Narendra Modi Cabinet for not fulfilling its promise to grant special status to Andhra Pradesh. Union Ministers Ashok Gajapati Raju and YS Chowdary will submit their resignations today.

“Shiv Sena had expected this. Other parties have walked out of National Democratic Alliance (NDA) too. Allies no longer have good relations with BJP. Gradually their grudges will spill out and eventually they’ll walk out of alliance,” Sena leader Sanjay Raut said.

Another Sena leader said it was the over-confidence of the BJP that led to this situation. “Even before TDP, Uddhav Ji had clarified his stance. Two ministers from TDP are about to resign, BJP should’ve thought about it. Former NDA leaders had kept the alliance together. Now it’s overconfident. 2019 will be challenging for BJP,” Sena leader Manisha Kayande said.

In the late night drama on Wednesday, Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu said that the TDP has decided to pull out of the Modi government but the alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party would remain intact.

Naidu’s announcement came barely hours after Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley said that funds equivalent to what a special category state receives would be extended to Andhra Pradesh, but drew a line saying politics cannot increase the quantum of money.

The TDP has 16 MPs in the Lok Sabha. It is to be seen whether the TDP would snap ties with the BJP in the coming days over the demand or not.

For special category status category states, the Centre meets 90 per cent of the funds required in a centrally-sponsored scheme as against 60 per cent in case of normal category states. The remaining funds are provided by the state governments.

Earlier this month, former Bihar chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi quit the BJP-led ruling NDA. Manjhi, had formed his own party – Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) – in 2015 after being removed unceremoniously from the chief minister’s post by Nitish Kumar.

11 reactions

What to read next