Aizawl FC Become the First Northeastern Club to Win I-League

Aizawl FC draw 1-1 with Shillong Lajong FC in their last game of the I-League.

Aizawl FC earned a well-deserved 1-1 draw against Shillong Lajong FC to create history by becoming the first club from the northeast to win the I-League title in Shillong on Sunday.

Lajong had taken the early lead when centre-forward Asier Pierrick Dipanda slammed home a header in the ninth minute.

That complicated things for the visitors as they needed at least a draw to win the title.

But Aizawl recovered from the setback to dominate the game thereafter.

Despite some stout defending by the hosts, William Lalnunfela finally made sure that Aizawl won the title when he found the equaliser in the 67th minute.

– More to Follow

(With inputs from IANS)