What is AAP office of profit case? All you need to know

1 / 1

What is AAP office of profit case? All you need to know

AAP faces crisis as its 20 MLAs in Delhi face disqualification for holding office of profit. Know what exactly is the case and what is office of profit

Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party is facing a crisis as disqualification of 20 of its MLAs in Delhi assembly was recommended by the Election Commission (EC)

This plunges AAP in deep trouble as its near-total hold on Delhi assembly is loosened, if not completely destroyed.

The EC has recommended disqualification of the MLAs as it held that the MLAs assumed 'office of profit' which may lead to conflict of interest.


  • The Congress had on June 9, 2016, moved the poll panel to seek disqualification of 21 AAP MLAs and has been pursing the matter ever since.
  • Subsequently, the proceedings were dropped against Jarnail Singh after he resigned as the Rajouri Garden MLA to contest the Punjab Assembly polls in February 2017.
  • In October last year, the EC had issued a notice to the Aam Aadmi Party lawmakers for an explanation.
  • In June 2017, the EC rejected the MLAs pleas to drop the "office of profit" case against them and ruled that the disqualification proceedings against them will continue.
  • In March 2015, the AAP government passed an amendment to the Delhi Members of Legislative Assembly (Removal of Disqualification) Act, 1997, to exempt the posts of Parliamentary Secretary from the definition of office of profit with retrospective effect.
  • However, then President Pranab Mukherjee refused to give assent, following which the appointments were set aside by the Delhi High Court in September 2016, which declared them illegal since the order had been passed "without concurrence/approval of the Lt Governor".

Following is the list of MLAs who may get disqualified:-

Praveen Kumar

Sharad Kumar

Adarsh Shastri

Madan Lal

Charan Goel

Sarita Singh

Naresh Yadav

Jarnail Singh

Rajesh Gupta

Alka Lamba

Nitin Tyagi

Sanjeev Jha

Kailash Gehlot

Vijendera Garg

Rajesh Rishi

Anil Kumar Vajpayee


Sulbir Singh Dala

Manoj Kumar

- With Inputs from IANS

AAP Office of Profit case: Election Commission recommends disqualification of 20 AAP MLAs