5 players with the most number of sixes in IPL history

Rahul M
·3-min read

These prolific players never fail to provide thrill, entertainment, and smash new records every year. Watch out for IPL 2021 to see what these five players with the most number of sixes in IPL history have in store for us.

5. Virat Kohli: RCB - 201

The RCB captain stands at the 5th position with 201 sixes to his name from 184 innings. Thirty-eight of those were from Kohli’s epic performance in 2016 when he scored a total of 973 runs with four centuries and donned the Orange Cap. Kohli has played every IPL season since 2008 for RCB. The flamboyant and aggressive batsman has played 192 matches and is the leading run-scorer in IPL with 5878 runs.

4. Rohit Sharma: Mumbai Indians - 213

The fourth rank holder is Rohit Sharma. Rohit made his IPL debut in 2008 with Deccan Chargers but moved to MI in 2011. Sharma is the most successful captain, bagging four IPL trophies. The Hitman skipper has played 195 innings and smashed 213 sixes. He has a score of 5230 runs in his IPL total so far. The right-handed batsman has also hit one century and 39 fifties.

3. MS Dhoni: Chennai Super Kings - 216

Dhoni has been a part of the IPL since its maiden year in 2008. Starting with CSK, Dhoni stuck with the team till 2016, moving to Rising Pune Supergiant for a brief two years. CSK bagged the IPL title in 2010, 2011, and 2018 under his captaincy. He has captained the team again since 2019. Dhoni has played 182 IPL innings and scored 4632 runs with a strike rate of 136.75. Known for his big sixes, Dhoni holds third place with 216 sixes.

2. AB de Villiers: Royal Challengers Bangalore - 235

ABV made his IPL debut in 2008, joining Delhi Daredevils till 2010. Since 2011 De Villiers has been a part of RCB. He is known as the 360-degree batsman thanks to his hard-hitting skills, impressive wicket-keeping, and acrobatic fielding stunts. The South African cricketer has played 156 innings and holds second place for a maximum of sixes in IPL history. Along with 235 sixes, De Villiers has 38 fifties and three centuries to his name. So far, he has 4849 IPL runs in his booty, with the highest score of 133 runs.

1. Chris Gayle: Kings XI Punjab- 349

Chris Gayle made his IPL debut in 2009 as a member of RCB. Over the past 13 years of IPL history, Gayle has played 132 matches, contributing 4772 runs to his teams with an IPL highest score of 175 runs and a formidable strike rate of 150.11. He has hit 31 half-centuries and six centuries, missing his 7th in 2019 by a single run. Gayle holds the record of maximum sixes hit overall seasons with a mind-blowing number of 349.