5 BSP MLAs Withdraw Support to Party Candidate for RS Elections

·1-min read

In an unprecedented development, five legislators of Bahujan Samaj Party have withdrawn their support to the BSP's official candidate, Ramji Gautam, for the Rajya Sabha biennial elections.

The five legislators informed the returning officers that their signatures as proposers for Gautam were forged.

Immediately after informing the returning officer, the five legislators – Aslam Chaudhary, Aslam Raini, Mujtaba Siddiqui, Hakam Lal Bind and Govind Jatav – went straight to the Samajwadi Party office to meet Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav.

This is the first time that the BSP has faced such a major setback, and that too, from her 2019 ally, the Samajwadi Party.

The dramatic development that rocked political equations on Wednesday is bound to cast its shadow on the 2022 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections.

Also Read: BJP Announces Candidates for UP, Uttarakhand Rajya Sabha Polls

On Tuesday, an Independent candidate, Prakash Bajaj, supported by Samajwadi Party, had filed his nomination papers, giving a clear indication of the events of Wednesday.

BSP MLA Uma Shankar Singh has alleged that the five legislators who had rebelled against the party were being given 'benefits' of a money-bag and to stop Dalit leader Ramji Gautam, from going to Rajya Sabha.

Also Read: UP CM Must Resign, Prez Rule Be Imposed: Mayawati on Hathras Rape

. Read more on Politics by The Quint.Sunday View: The Best Weekend Opinion Reads, Curated Just For YouVisuals From Bihar’s Munger Shared As Police Attack in West Bengal . Read more on Politics by The Quint.