360 Degree View: India’s Only Truck Racing Championship

Raw power was unleashed on the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida as part of T1 Prima Truck Racing, hosted by Tata Motors.

With the tagline Junoon-e-Trucking’, this is the fourth season of the truck racing championship. Here’s a never-seen-before view from the track captured on 360 degree camera.

The T1 Prima Truck Racing, considered as the F1 of Truck Racing in India, is organised by Madras Motor Sports Club.

The race is divided into three categories – Pro Class, Super Class and Champions Class. After the qualifying heats, 12 international and 20 Indian truck racers made it to the final race.

In the Pro Class, there are eight-lap and fifteen-lap races. Twelve international racers competed against each other in these.

The Super Class is the batch of fresh Indian drivers. Ten were selected through a motor sports driver training and selection program called the T1 Racer Program (TRP).

The Champion Class had 10 drivers who were the first Indian drivers to compete in T1 truck racing last year.

In Pro-Class, six teams participated with two drivers from each team. Six Europeans and six British drivers made up the batch of twelve drivers.

29-year-old Nagarjuna won the Champion Class for the second consecutive year. The double champion clocked the fastest lap at 1:50.562.

The Winners of T1 Prima Truck Racing Champions Class. (Photo: The Quint)
Akshay Kumar at T1 Prima Truck Racing (Photo: The Quint)

Akshay Kumar flagged off the Pro class race for international drivers which was won by David Vrsecky of Czech Republic.