3 batsmen with the most hundreds in IPL history

Sai Siddhharth

Chris Gayle's 175 is the highest individual score in IPL history.

The IPL is the biggest T20 league in the world. The cash-rich league attracts the best players from across the globe and the whole cricketing world turns its gaze towards India when the IPL is on. It is a format where a rookie gets to share a dressing room with the very best of international stars and a player who performs well can even get a call-up directly to the national team.

Over 12 seasons, the IPL has allowed senior players to rediscover their form and youngsters to get into national reckoning out of nowhere. Performing in the IPL is as tough as performing at the international arena. It has provided nerve-wrenching moments, spine-tingling thrillers and splendid performances which have taken our breath away.

Several batsmen have made a name for themselves through their ethereal deeds with the willow. Suresh Raina is the 'Mr. Consistent' of the IPL, MS Dhoni has finished matches like no other batsman, Virat Kohli has redefined the meaning of consistency and Chris Gayle has thrilled fans with his effortless sixes into the stands.

Also see – IPL 2020 time table

In this article, let us look at three batsmen with the most centuries in IPL history.

#3 David Warner

David Warner has scored four hundreds in IPL cricket.

At the third place comes Australian batsman David Warner. The stocky left-hander has featured in 126 matches in the IPL and has scored four hundreds. Warner averages 44.14, and also has 44 fifties to his credit.

The dashing opening batsman scored his first IPL hundred in the year 2010 for the Delhi Daredevils. He smashed a whirlwind 107* off just 69 balls against the Kolkata Knight Riders, allowing his team to thrash their opponents by 40 runs. His second hundred of the competition came in the year 2012 against the Deccan Chargers. Warner scored a scintillating 109* off just 54 balls, and helped his team make light work of a challenging target of 188.

His third hundred came in the year 2017. Warner was playing for the Sun Risers Hyderabad, and he scored 126 off just 59 balls to help his team wallop the Kolkata Knight Riders by 48 runs. His fourth and final hundred of the competition came in the year 2019. Opening the batting against the Royal Challengers Bangalore, Warner demolished the RCB bowling attack and scored a marauding 100* off just 55 balls. His triple figure scored helped SRH thrash the opposition by a massive margin of 118 runs.

Fellow Australian Shane Watson also has four IPL centuries under his belt.

Warner IPL Record: Innings:126 Runs:4706 Average:43.17 100's:4 50's:44

#2 Virat Kohli

Kohli scored a staggering four hundreds in the 2016 edition of the IPL.

At the second place comes Indian batting icon Virat Kohli. Kohli is the leading runscorer in IPL and has amassed a colossal 5412 runs in the T20 extravaganza. The Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper has also scored five hundreds in the competition, the most by an Indian batsman.

Kohli virtually owned the 2016 edition of the IPL and the numbers generated by him during that edition are virtually unbelievable. Kohli scored a staggering four hundreds in that edition, averaging a colossal 81.08.The master batsman scored twin hundreds against the Gujarat Lions outfit, smashing their bowlers all around the park on both occasions he faced them. Kohli also lorded over the Rising Pune Supergiant, scoring 108* off just 59 balls. His knock allowed RCB to beat their opposition by 7 wickets.

His final hundred of the 2016 edition came against the Kings XI Punjab side. Kohli and Chris Gayle decimated the Punjab bowling attack and ripped the bowlers apart. Even though the match was reduced to just 15 overs a side, RCB still managed to scored a gargantuan total of 211, with Kohli leading the way with a sensational knock of 113.

Kohli’s final IPL hundred came in the year 2019, at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata. His 58-ball century enabled RCB to beat KKR by a margin of 10 runs.

Kohli IPL Record: Innings:169 Runs:5412 Average:37.84 100's:5 50's:36

#1 Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle has scored six hundreds in IPL cricket.

Taking the top spot is West Indian batting legend, Chris Gayle. When Gayle is on song, no boundary appears big, and his belligerent hitting makes him a nightmare for the opposition. Gayle has played 125 matches in the IPL, scoring 4484 runs at a whopping strike rate of 151.02. Gayle has also scored six hundreds in IPL cricket, and he scored them for two different teams.

Gayle scored his first IPL hundred in the year 2011 against the Kolkata Knight Riders. His 102*, coming off just 55 balls helped his side overhaul a challenging target of 172 with nine wickets to spare. Gayle scored another hundred in the same edition against Kings XI Punjab. In an innings studded with 10 fours and 9 sixes, Gayle’s assault blew away the opposition, paving the way for RCB to thrash the Punjab outfit by 85 runs.

Gayle scored a solitary hundred in the 2012 edition of the IPL. Opening the batting, the Jamaican blasted a whirlwind 128 off just 62 balls, propelling his side to a 21-run win over the Delhi Daredevils. Gayle’s only hundred of the 2013 edition is widely considered as the greatest knock in IPL history. The ‘Universe Boss’ scored a breath-taking 175 off just 66 balls, shattering records galore during his knock. It was the fastest IPL hundred in history, the highest individual score in the competition’s history, and it was also the first time a batsman had scored over 150 runs in fours and sixes alone.

Gayle’s fifth hundred of the competition came in the year 2015 against Kings XI Punjab. In an innings studded with 12 sixes, Gayle pummeled the Punjab bowling attack and paved the way for RCB to crush their opposition by 138 runs. His final hundred in IPL cricket came in the year 2018. Playing for the Kings XI Punjab, Gayle blasted as many as 11 sixes and scored a sensational 104 for his side.

Gayle IPL Record: Innings:124 Runs:4484 Average:41.13 100's:6 50's:28