2nd T20I: India look to wrap up series while South Africa fight for survival

2nd T20I: South Africa vs India

India seek to continue their dominant run in limited overs as they take on a battered South African side in the second T20I at the SuperSport Park in Centurion on Wednesday.

Series situation – Thanks to the heroics of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shikhar Dhawan, India lead the three-match series 1-0. For South Africa, losing the T20I series close on the heels of an ODI series loss would be traumatic. The hosts have yet to decode the confounding spin of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav, who combined for 33 South African wickets in 6 ODIs., which is equivalent to getting a side more than three times out.

Pitch – The slow nature of the Centurion pitch might see Kuldeep back in the XI after the left-arm chinaman bowler missed out to Jaydev Unadkat in the 1st T20I.

Team news – While the hosts are weakened by the absence of senior players such as AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock, India too suffered a minor scare in the last match when Kohli left the field complaining of a left leg strain. To the Indians’ relief, the damage is ”nothing serious”, as the management puts it.

Weather – Overcast with chances of thunderstorm later in the evening

Quotes – “I don’t think it was the right decision,” former South African captain Graeme Smith on Aiden Markram being named South Africa’s captain for the ODIs.

Match timings – The match is scheduled to start at 9:30 p.m. IST.

Where to watch – Live Telecast begins on Sony Ten Network at 9:30 PM. Live streaming available on Sony Liv.com.


India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur.

South Africa: JP Duminy (capt), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), David Miller, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.