10 longest sixes in the history of IPL

·2-min read

The cash-rich Indian Premier League is probably the most exciting domestic Twenty 20 league around the world. It has played a catalyst in the popularity of the shorter format of the game.

The tournament has seen some mind-blowing, entertaining sixes from some expected batsmen and a few underdogs. Let's look at the list of the top 10 longest sixes ever hit in the history of IPL.

Albie Morkel - 2008 - 125m

The left-armed bowler faced Pragyan Ojha from Deccan Chargers when he hit his iconic 125m six to sit on the top.

Praveen Kumar - 2011 - 124m

Playing for Kings XI Punjab, the Indian bowler hit the ball to a distance of 124m against Mumbai Indian’s leading wicket-taker, Lasith Malinga.

Adam Gilchrist - 2011 - 122m

The wicket-keeper batsman, playing for Kings XI Punjab, smashed RCB bowler Charl Langeveldt gloriously over the mid-wicket region. His six travelled a seemingly endless distance of 122m.

Robin Uthappa - 2010 - 120m

In 2010, Wankhede Stadium witnessed Robin Uthappa's monstrous six against one of the best death bowlers, Dwayne Bravo. The 120m hit went on and on and on.

Chris Gayle - 2013 - 119m

This was during his record-breaking performance of 175 runs off 66 balls against Pune Warriors. Chris Gayle took a breath-taking smash at a full toss from Ashok Dinda that flew into the stands to a distance of 119m.

Ross Taylor - 2008 - 119m

Kiwi batsman Ross Tyler remains in a tie with Gayle with a 119m six against Jacob Oram. Playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore, the impressive six came in the inaugural season of IPL against Chennai Super Kings.

Yuvraj Singh - 2009 - 118m

In the 34th IPL match between Kings XI Punjab and Chennai Super Kings at Centurion, Albie Morkel bowled a full delivery on the last ball of the 16th, and Yuvraj Singh hammered the ball across 118m over the mid-wicket fence.

Ben Cutting - 2016 - 117m

Cutting holds the record of hitting the longest six of IPL 2016. The 117m long shot came in the 19th over of the finals against The Royal Challengers and the formidable bowling of Shane Watson. The Australian seamer took his SRH team to an impressive 208-run total.

Gautam Gambhir - 2013 - 117m

The left-handed batsman was in an aggressive mood that day. The KKR skipper smacked speedster S. Sreenath’s ball past the square leg fence to a staggering 117m.

MS Dhoni - 2012 - 112m

The 'captain cool' completes the top-10 with a monstrous hit 112m against James Franklin's bowling.

Though these are the torch bearers of the longest sixes in IPL history, it's a tough competition on the pitch, and the list is ever-changing.